As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[AC] - Intricacies of the Lore?

colorwhitecolorwhite Registered User regular
edited June 2010 in MMO Extravaganza
For reference, I am a multimedia film student / intern, with an unrelenting love for the incredibly expansive storyline of Asheron's Call's past. I haven't played for a good six years now, but as a tribute to the wondrous universe I explored for a good portion of my adolescence, as well as an incredibly intuitive and fantastical story, I've decided to create a non-profit, self-produced audio dramatization of one or several major events in the Asheron's Call timeline. However, getting all of the finer details required to be able to tell such a huge story within the confines of a media device that has no visual counterpart is incredibly difficult.

For likely close to six months now, I have been actively researching all of the old Asheron's Call lore surrounding the major plotline events that had set in motion the trail that would eventually lead to Portal Year 0, as well as beyond that.

Most of my time has been used researching names. Names of characters, names of locations, names of objects, names of orders; anything iconic, relevant, and vague that has rarely ever been touched upon.

A huge amount of time was spent particularly on the past of Dericost, Gelid, and the descent from the frozen kingdom plane to The Isle of Woe, particularly within Ifisveraqu, where Frore was built. As this pivotal moment is not only the initial point in which all of the game's events started, but also a great merger of almost all of the great plot devices (The Sundering, Frore, Crystal Array, Bael'Zharon, Asheron's lineage, Strathelar's rule, etc.), I've worked extensively on my drafts for it.