As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Why wont anyone hire me?

MightyMighty Omeganaut '15 '16 '17NebraskaRegistered User regular
edited June 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
A bit of background first, i am 27, I held several jobs for a few years, may recent jobs being related to the area of market research, first a call center that promoted me to a monitor, and the next a face to face survey place that give you cash for taking surveys.

I am good with computers, know my way around MS office, and did a temp job as an IT intern for an engineering firm.

I graduated from college with a degree in marketing and advertising, and i am currently re-enrolled with a focus in financial accounting. I have 1 semester left before i have the bachelors, and 2 before i can get a masters which would qualify me for a CPA license. ( assuming i get all the other requirements)

Everywhere i have applied, i have gotten "you aren't qualified enough" or "too qualified" messages. I rarely ever hear anything back besides a nice little "thanks for trying" letters.

I am using my college employment office, the job fairs that come here, newspapers and the internet.

Is there some sort of fundamental flaw i am unaware of or is the job economy still in the crapper?

Twitch: twitch.tv\dreadmighty
Mighty on

• badpoetbadpoet Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    The economy is still terrible, but that doesn't mean it's impossible to find work.

How are your resume and cover letter skills? Are you following up and bird-dogging people to make sure they know you really want the job? Maybe you take out your personal information and post them here for folks to critique?

badpoet on
  • LewishamLewisham Registered User regular
    edited June 2010