As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Got a job doing front-end web development, need help with self-training

ObiFettObiFett Use the ForceAs You WishRegistered User regular
edited August 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
So this company I work for is taking a chance on me and approved a move over to their Web development team. I am currently a supervisor in their Technical Support department. I know next to nothing about web development. D:

The good:
- They know that I have no experience with HTML, CSS, or Javascript.
- I have had a little over a years worth of Comp Sci education at a major university, consisting of mainly Java and C+. So I am not clueless when it comes to programming languages.

The mildly scary:
- They don't have any books on the basics of HTML, CSS, or Javascript.
- They said they want me to find some good books so I can self-teach while they help me. They will refund me or buy them for me.
- There are lots of these books. I don't know which are effective and which aren't.

What I need:
What are some good books to learn the basics and beyond of HTML, CSS, or Javascript?

Thanks in advance, H/A!

ObiFett on

• UnderwhelmingUnderwhelming myMomIsTheJam July 13, 2013 Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    I used webmonkey's online tutorials when I was learning over 9 years ago. It looks different now, but still might be of use.

http://www.webmonkey.com/tutorials/

Underwhelming on
  • ReznikReznik Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    Reznik on
    Do... Re.... Mi... Ti... La...
    Do... Re... Mi... So... Fa.... Do... Re.... Do...
    Forget it...
  • splashsplash Registered User regular
    edited August 2010