As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

So...[Nuclear Iran] Time to deal with it?

• Options
    ACSISACSIS Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    Synthesis wrote: »
    Karl wrote: »
    MagicPrime wrote: »
    I don't think there is any one nation's army in the world that could go toe-to-toe with the US military in a straight-up fight.

Russia maybe? I'm no expert on how well equipped the Russian military is though, compared to the USA.

Given that Russian scientists are ingenius bastards, I'd say they'd be more competent then most, but the money just isn't there.

Not Russia--contrary to what a lot of Americans would like to believe, Russia's current armed forces have their hands full re-organizing themselves for the future and engaging in joint exercises with the other CIS countries. Versus something cool, like dropping paratroopers in Colorado.

Which is not to say they don't have a lot of experience, or money. Just not nearly as much as us (we really like going to war--we do it so frequently--and we are quite willing to spend the big bucks to do it). They can curb-stomp their nearby rivals, but that's a far step from parity (even if those rivals are supposed to be trained by the US). They got some cool stuff though, like any major major arsenal (they are, after all, the second biggest).

As mentioned, China is a military power, certainly, but they're farther from parity than Russia is with the US, at this present moment.