As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Teach a noob how to backup data.

Folken FanelFolken Fanel anime afWhen's KoFRegistered User regular
edited October 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
I'm a 3rd year phd student and I've been putting off the purchase of a backup hard-drive for some time now. I've got a little extra cash to burn and I can think of no better way to burn it than to backup all my important files for school that I should have been doing for each of the last few years I've been in school. I currently use a 3 year old macbook and I bootcamp it to run vista business (I prefer snow leopard, but 2 programs very important to my studies are windows only).

Here's are my questions and concerns:

On the mac side Time Capsule seems pretty sweet, except a larger than insignificant number of reviews state that they die after 18 months. While I love the idea of backing up all my data with minimal effort, I really don't want to drop $300 on something that will break so easily, and does nothing for me on the windows side.

Does anyone here use a Time Capsule? Are my fears justified? Is there anything comparable to Time Capsule for Windows? Would it be possible to buy 1 backup hard drive and partition it for osx/windows use like I have with my macbook?

Twitter: Folken_fgc Steam: folken_ XBL: flashg03 PSN: folken_PA SFV: folken_
Dyvim Tvar wrote: »
Characters I hate:

Everybody @Folken Fanel plays as.
Folken Fanel on

• markpmorganmarkpmorgan Registered User regular
    edited October 2010
    Sweet Jesus. Buy a cheap external USB drive and use Time Machine. A PhD? Get it backed up in any way you can, and worry about Time Capsule at your leisure.

markpmorgan on
  • finnithfinnith ... TorontoRegistered User regular
    edited October 2010