As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Art Corner Newbie Looking for a Critique!

FanshiiNanshiiFanshiiNanshii Registered User new member
edited November 2010 in Artist's Corner
Hello!
I'm new to the Art Corner, and I was hoping to get some good critiques/advice for my art. I'm in university, but when I graduate I hope to work in the video game industry as a character artist. That said, I'll need all the help I can get in regards to anatomy, clothing, and character detail.

This piece was a doodle I did at work, so it's not the best in terms of medium (read: lined paper) but I hope it's not too bad.

Thank you very much!

miranda_albred_by_octaviaflit-d32izax.jpg

FanshiiNanshii on

• Options
    MustangMustang Arbiter of Unpopular Opinions Registered User regular
    edited November 2010
    This is actually pretty good, there are some structural issues around the head and neck and I have no idea what is going on with the hand on the shield, but overall it's a nice illustration.

It's hard to give you advice on where to push yourself off one drawing, because I have no idea what you've been studying. However if you're not doing them, some nude figure studies would certainly help you iron out some of the deficiencies that are in this drawing.

Also try to do in depth studies on singular body parts, hands, feet, lips, eyes, etc.

Mustang on
  • Options
    edited November 2010
    Thanks!

Yeah, it wasn't until I saw it in full view that I realized her hand was all sorts of gimp. It was a little embarrassing.

I've been doing a lot of nudes lately, and it's really strengthened my torsos and legs. I still struggle with arms and hands, though.

FanshiiNanshii on
  • Options
    MustangMustang Arbiter of Unpopular Opinions Registered User regular
    edited November 2010