As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

File Syncing & Sharing Solutions

DHS OdiumDHS Odium Registered User regular
I'm a member of a design team in a large corporate environment. I'm looking for advice on solutions to sync and share files (sometimes very large files) between our team members.

It's a corporate environment so everything is Windows, except our team uses Macs (all running Snow Leopard). The IT department doesn't like this, but too bad for them. Even though I'm a designer I have fairly comprehensive knowledge of all things computers, from hardware to software, to proficiency with most any OS. I tend to like to use my own solutions rather than those provided by the company, because up to this point, they've been little help solving any problem. We all have Windows machines that would need access as well, but very rarely as we don't have licenses on them for our programs.

Two members, myself included, are onsite in one of our offices. The other two members are permanently remote, and connecting through any server we all have access to is often needlessly complicated, and too slow to be of any use.

I'm looking for a better solution. I got everyone using Dropbox and this has helped tremendously. We often share files this way, and even put some files on the public portion to just email a link to someone else to get the files they need. This beats the corporate FTP solution in every possible way.