As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

"Plagiarism" (PA et al., 2010)

• DrezDrez Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Drez wrote: »
    adytum wrote: »
    Pi-r8 wrote: »
    As an undergrad, I've had my school's policies on academic integrity explained to me, both in syllabi and in e-mails from the university itself, at least a half-dozen times per semester. Plagiarism was also the first lesson in the introductory course on academic writing.

Does this sort of thing stop at the graduate level, such that you could expect an international grad student to overlook the policies until he or she runs into problems in class?

I am a graduate student, and

1) I had to sit through a lecture on plagiarism before attending any classes.
    2) I had to sign an agreement that I understood that there was a 0 tolerance policy on plagiarism and that if I was caught with any uncited work in a paper I would be immediately expelled.
    3) Every syllabus explicitly restates that plagiarism is unacceptable in all circumstances and will result in immediate expulsion.

sure, but do you think a student from taiwan knows what the word "plaigiarism" even means?

If they can't read and write at a level expected by the school then they shouldn't be in the program.

It seems to me that it should be the school's responsibility in highlighting these kinds of things, especially to international students. That is what student orientation is for - to prepare the students. I also feel that it is the school's responsibility to research and comprehend whatever cultural barriers there may be for incoming international students so they are able to appropriately orient said students.