As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Peechiz magical posedump

Sir PeechizworthSir Peechizworth Registered User regular
edited January 2011 in Artist's Corner
"Tell us what your goals as an artist are."

To learn to draw so that I don't fail my computer animation class.

"Are you a hobbyist looking to learn to draw landscapes for fun?"

No, I'm a filmmaker/photographer/MFA student tired of not being able to draw for beans.

"How long have you been practicing this form of art?"

A week?

"Who are some artists or styles that you admire who you strive to be like in your own work?"

idk, people better than me (everyone)

I've been trying to hit up Posemaniacs.com and do 30sec gestures everyday, with an occasional no-time-limit sketch. Here are my results. Feel free to tell me to DIAF.

8iRV

8mx5

If it don't Blam, we don't want it.
Sir Peechizworth on

• ScosglenScosglen Registered User regular
    edited January 2011
    Personally, I think posemaniacs is a poor resources for beginners, and maybe even a poor resource in general. The gestures are too wooden and unnatural, the muscle attachments and the way they stretch and compress are not accurate.

You are interested in the figure, which is good. If you can proficiently learn the figure, you will have learned a great deal about drawing along the way.

If you're a student, there's a good chance you have access to a regular "open" figure drawing session at your school, my suggestion is to investigate it, or other opportunities to study from life, while supplementing yourself with other observational studies and books.

Scosglen on
  • Sir PeechizworthSir Peechizworth Registered User regular
    edited January 2011