As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[RIFT] "All the beta keys you can eat"

• BloodshedBloodshed I smoke my friends Down to the FilterRegistered User regular
    edited January 2011
    Honestly, I think the biggest draw to any new MMO these days is just that, it's NOT the MMO you're coming from. A game can still be entertaining and well-made and eventually grow boring.

That's how I feel about WoW, these days. There's nothing wrong with it, it's still the best MMO on the market. But I've been doing it for 6 years. It's time for a change. People crave change for all manner of reasons. New challenges, etc. Over six years I've built a niche for myself on a server playing WoW, and I never really venture off to a new server, because I've done all the work.

Sometimes a new MMO is a great opportunity to re-build yourself a niche, maybe it won't be terribly original, maybe everything won't be brand new and unique, but you'll have to start over from scratch, and there is an appeal to that.

As long as Rift can offer me entertainment, even if I am constantly finding similarities in it from the games I've played previously, it will give me a new place to start over. To re-build myself another virtual "home".

For all that WoW has offered me in the past 6 years, there are a number of things that I love in MMO's that WoW has ever failed to capture me with. Like the completely lack-luster crafting, most of which is completely useless to me at high level, and not worth the effort at low level.

There's also the opportunity to make new gamer friends, and a brand new MMO is a great way to find people who aren't already deeply established somewhere already. (Like a guild or steady group of gamer-friends)