As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Latest O'Keefe sting backfires hilariously (again)

2»

• Options
    wwtMaskwwtMask Registered User regular
    edited February 2011
    Octoparrot wrote: »
    wwtMask wrote: »
    I'm just curious as to why no one is suing this guy and Breitbart for defamation. I know they have deep pockets, but given what they've done, surely there's a lawyer with their eyes on a good payout.

Breitbart could threaten a failed lawsuit has to pay all lawyer fees, and they both enjoy bad publicity, so I don't see how even fishing for a fast settlement would work.

I'm no lawyer, but don't counter-suits pertaining to the same matter usually get handled together in a single proceeding? And payment of lawyer fees isn't a given, but usually something that the judge would decide upon.

Either way, if enough lawsuits are filed against a person and at least one wins, it would highly influence the others and any in the future, especially if they come before the same judge or judges.

wwtMask on
    When he dies, I hope they write "Worst Affirmative Action Hire, EVER" on his grave. His corpse should be trolled.
    Twitter - @liberaltruths | Google+ - http://gplus.to/wwtMask | Occupy Tallahassee
  • Options
    DevoutlyApatheticDevoutlyApathetic Registered User regular
    edited February 2011
    Payment of the other parties legal fees is pretty rare. The judge has to basically find the entire case completely without merit.

I suppose with such a partisan case the chances of that are higher than normal.

DevoutlyApathetic on
    Nod. Get treat. PSN: Quippish
  • Options
    RobmanRobman Registered User regular
    edited February 2011
    It's also ridiculously hard to sue a newspaper for libel and slander, which is a good thing for the most part