As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

RAM Upgrade - 'Matched Pairs' ?

ReviloRevilo Registered User regular
I wana upgrade my laptop's 3gig of ram.
Will the performance be better if I take out the 1gig card and put in a 2gig? (So i would have two 2gig cards) Or would a 2gig and two 1gigs work just as well?

My laptops a sony viao VGN-FW21L by the way.

Revilo on

• GaslightGaslight Registered User regular
    edited February 2011
    I'm far from an expert on these things so I'm sure there will be more detailed posts from more knowledgeable people after mine that you should listen to instead. However, it's a bit more complex than this I think.

First of all, what operating system are you running? If it's 64-bit, all good. If it's 32-bit, you won't be able to take full advantage of more than 3 gigs of RAM.

Secondly, besides the issue of having "matched pairs," the speed of the different sticks of RAM themselves matters. I believe that if they're different, the whole kit and kaboodle will run at the speed of the slowest stick. That may not matter for what you're doing with the computer if you have more RAM overall, but it is something to keep in mind.

Gaslight on
  • Mr. ButtonsMr. Buttons Registered User regular
    edited February 2011