As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

'ism/'obia and Entertainment: How much is too much?

OptimusZedOptimusZed Registered User regular
edited April 2011 in Debate and/or Discourse
This morning, as my wife was getting ready to head out to work, I was watching Robotech via Netflix Instant Streaming. For those of you unfamiliar with this program, it's an animated series from Japan, with the english dubbing and edition dated 1983. Basically, it's a series about an alien invasion and giant, transforming robots; pretty much par for the course as far as cartoons go.

I'm familiar with the setting and some of the characters via the old Robotech RPG (which I played extensively, and which is why I started watching this in the first place), but this is my first time viewing the actual series itself. I'm up through episode 10 or so now, and a pattern is starting to emerge. One which my wife is noticing as well, even with her extremely limited exposure to the show (maybe 15 minutes in total, most of it this morning).

This show is rather amazingly misogynistic. Not overtly "get back in the kitchen, bitch" misogynistic, but definitely male-centric and very regressive in its portrayal of female characters.