As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Want to be an animator, anxiety ensues

flowerhoneyflowerhoney Registered User regular
edited May 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
So basically, when I was picking colleges I was feeling really, really shitty about myself and my artistic abilities (high school art teachers weren't kind heh) and thus was terrified to apply to art school for fear of being rejected and thus forever crushing my artistic dreams.
In the end, I chose to go to a small liberal arts college in Portland (and in my defense, I love my school and I've really been enjoying my liberal arts education!)

So after getting my act together, I was like "okay, I'm an artist and I'm gonna keep doing art and you know what? I've gonna fucking pursue my dream of animating. Hell yeah!"
But then my mom burst my bubble and asked how on earth I was going to get a job when I dont even have any experience and all my competition will have graduated from like CalArts with tons of qualifications! This was an excellent question and at first I was like "mom, don't worry, it'll be fine" but now I'm FREAKING out. Our school is great, but we're pretty behind when it comes to digital media so there aren't any courses on animation.

I dont really have any experience (tried to get an internship here in portland but I couldn't get anything) and unfortunately there aren't any alums who decided to go down this career path. I haven't even been able to get an informational interview! I'm going to be at comic con this summer and a few companies (namely cartoon network and nick) are going to be there too, so I'd like to try and get a portfolio review with them. Other that though, I dont even know where to start.