As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Working in a kitchen for the first time

Hey AshtrayHey Ashtray Registered User regular
edited May 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
Yoho, I got hired at a family restaurant franchise working in the kitchen. No details were given on what I'm going to be doing. It's basically a swiss chalet type place.

What can I expect? My boss knows I have no kitchen experience at all, except mcdonalds, so I'm hoping I don't take much flak while I get used to it.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Hey Ashtray on

• Options
    Forbe!Forbe! Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Probably lots of food-prep and bitch work, maybe even washing dishes if its a smaller place. Just do what you're told and help everyone out.

I've worked a few restaurant jobs as a sort of entry level/food prep cook and this is typically what I did:
    Cleaned/chopped/prepared vegetables, peeling garlic, shucking corn, peeling tomatillos, trimming cuts of meat, prepping marinades and preparing basic sauces. This was typically during slow periods. The rest of the time I would help the sous chef/head chef with whatever they needed.

Forbe! on
    bv2ylq8pac8s.png
  • Options
    DemerdarDemerdar Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Don't put the salads under the heat lamp. I made that mistake once... that's all I got for ya.

Demerdar on
    y6GGs3o.gif
  • Options
    CathodeCathode Registered User regular
    edited May 2011