As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Point and Shoot Camera

PhotosynthesisPhotosynthesis Registered User regular
So I'm going to Germany this summer and I'd like to have a camera to take along, but I have no knowledge of what to look for specs-wise.

I'm pretty much looking for something that can take good quality pictures and is relatively compact.

Also, prices up to around the $250 range would be preferred, though again I have no idea what that'll get me.

Photosynthesis on

• Options
    a5ehrena5ehren AtlantaRegistered User regular
    edited May 2011
    DPReview (which is pretty much the #1 high-end camera site on the web) liked the Casio EX-FH100 and Samsung HZ35W cameras for this category. The Samsung doesn't really look like it ever caught on (not listed a lot of places and above your price range), but the Casio is pretty widely available and runs about $240.

If you're looking for something cheaper, this Fuji was noted as a decent value option at ~$150.

a5ehren on
  • Options
    MonoxideMonoxide Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited May 2011
    if you want something compact, there isn't much that beats the Canon S90/S95. They retail for a bit higher, around $400, but you can pick up a refurbished unit for a bit cheaper. The S90 is currnetly $280 from Canon, but prices on refurb units will dip every so often.

I bought one for about $250 a few months ago, and have no regrets. It's no SLR, but for something that slips easily in and out of a jeans pocket, it takes great photos, and has a wide aperture and high ISO to work well even in low light conditions.

http://shop.usa.canon.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_10051_10051_262361_-1

Monoxide on
  • Options
    Skoal CatSkoal Cat Registered User regular
    edited May 2011