As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Webcomic art - MUST SEE

• u63ru63r Jon "Bad Wasabi" Wood Registered User regular
    edited May 2007
    Generic style-based on the comic whose forum you are posting on, no less-generic subject, generic characters.

You're not very good at this.
    2. I posted this IN A PENNY ARCADE FORUM... yes, I'm aping Gabe's art style. Yes, I like Tycho's writing style. Yes, I have the same sense of humor (why else would I be here in the first place?) I've followed their comic almost since it first came out. I can't help aping both of them, not when I'm just starting out at least.
    Yes. Yes you can.
    3. Please just tell me how to draw better. I REALIZE THE ART IS SHITTY. That's why I asked for constructive crit in the first place.
    Well, you could start by trying to draw your own work, or draw from a diverse pool of influences. Or even get outside, and draw from life.

Just a thought.

u63r on
  • Stupid Mr Whoopsie NameStupid Mr Whoopsie Name Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited May 2007
    HanSagan wrote: »
    I have to disagree with this. Copying other artists to improve and develop a style is a well established tradition.
    There is nothing wrong with gleaning inspiration from other artists, but that is no substite for a solid foundation of your own.

Stupid Mr Whoopsie Name on
  • milknpeachesmilknpeaches Registered User regular
    edited May 2007
    Oh, shit, I swear I deleted those comics.

They should be deleted now.

And I've never read CtrAltDel.

I'm going to do some new comics, not about video games, and not imitating (poorly) Gabe's style. Then I will post them here to get some more constructive criticism and to show you that I am not a whore.