As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Learning guitar theory (without breaking the bank!)

GodfatherGodfather Registered User regular
edited July 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
So things are a little slow in my neck of the woods: they've been cutting back on hours at my job, i'm new to the area so hanging out with friends is pretty slim, and i'm looking for something to do to pass the time.

I've been playing acoustic guitar for a little over three years now, but most of that was me just taking lessons on tunes that i'd like to play. My first year mainly consisted of lessons, my second I hardly touched the thing and my third is where I really cracked down on it. I'm able to play some real fancy pieces, but all I know how to do is read tabiture! When I think about it, I hardly know anything about guitar at all, and i'd like to better myself while I have the down time. I don't really have any reason why I shouldn't; i've got a (somewhat) solid job that will offer more hours starting August, a sweet girlfriend who's very caring and affectionate, and i'm pretty comfortable with my surroundings so I wouldn't mind secluding myself for a bit in order to get better.