As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Food for the Food God

• StaleStale Registered User regular
    The real secret to roasting a chicken is trussing. That more than anything else will guarantee even cooking.

@Didgeridoo: Yes, use whole milk. Everyone should use whole milk for everything. I hate skim and 2%. It's not milk. It's leavings of better milk. Fuck that bullshit.

Biscuits:
    This recipe, more than any other, even the ribs, is one that you will not master the first time, or the 50th time. This takes a lifetime to master. I still screw up the odd batch and I've been cooking these for 15 years.

* 2 cups AP Flour, plus more for workspace dusting
    * 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
    * 1 tablespoon baking powder (no aluminum)
    * 1 teaspoon salt
    * 6 tablespoons fat, very cold, cubed
    * 3/4 cup whole buttermilk (maybe more, maybe less)

Pre-heat to 425. An Oven Thermometer is so worth the 8 bucks. Trust me.

In a large work bowl sift the dry ingredients and once integrated, start quickly working the cold fat into the flour mixture with your fingertips. You can use a fork, a pastry cutter, a spoon, I use my hands. Just do it quickly and try to avoid heating it up too much. I tend to use 50% Butter and 50% Lard, my Grandmother used 100% Vegetable Shortening. Your own ratio is something you'll develop over time.