As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Help Me I'm New To Comics

• Options
    WiseManTobesWiseManTobes Registered User regular
    That's a fairly BKV heavy list, so you could prob check out Ex Machina also ( he did Y:the last man, and most of the good episodes of Lost )

Steam! Battlenet:Wisemantobes#1508
  • Options
    Centipede DamascusCentipede Damascus Registered User regular
    Planetary is amazing and you should definitely read it.

• Options
    MunchMunch Registered User regular
    captaink wrote:
    I'm in the mood for some comics. I tried the first trade of Runaways a couple months ago, it didn't really grab me. I'm looking at buying a couple of trades.

Things I have liked:
    Y: The Last Man
    The Sandman
    Watchmen
    Lost
    Fringe

I'm thinking either Powers, Fables, Planetary, or something else sci-fi or maybe a (relatively) standalone superhero.

Try Locke and Key. It's more fantasy than sci-fi, but in terms of quality, it's the closest thing I've found to Y the Last Man, which has long been a favorite of mine. The elevator pitch is that a family moves into an old house that has a malevolent spirit occupying it. They happen upon a bunch of magic keys that, when inserted into the proper receptacle, do different things. Put the Ghost Key in the right door, walk through it, and you die, becoming a ghost, until you walk back through the door.

It's a really tense and exciting book, that you can read more about here, including a longer review by me. Don't click the spoilers though, seriously. It's also available digitally, with the first volume priced at just $5.