As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Aliens, Robots and Microns

patrickhallpatrickhall Registered User regular
edited February 2012 in Artist's Corner
Hello, all! My name is Patrick and I'm an aspiring professional doodler like many of you on this forum. For the past few months I've been chipping away at making my own webcomic. It's entitled, Shabamo. Long story short, it's three aliens and their robot made of space bean cans that crash on earth and, inevitably, hijinks ensue. Here's a sampling of some of the strips I've done:

2011-02-20.jpg

2011-06-03-1.jpg

2011-06-20.jpg

2012-01-06.jpg

2012-01-13.jpg

And here's a one off I did, unrelated to characters of the main strip:
2011-12-13.jpg

Any comments, feedback or thoughts are welcomed.
Thanks for checking it out!

-Patrick

patrickhall on

• Options
    FugitiveFugitive Registered User regular
    edited February 2012
    It's competently drawn, and some of the character designs are pretty charming.

But it did take me reading through all of them before I realized Squigby and Spacebeans weren't supposed to be direct references to Invader Zim and Bender.

Fugitive on
  • Options
    brokecrackerbrokecracker Registered User regular
    Yea, I got to say it is a bit derivative, the one character even looks a bit like Zim. Being that your audience is probably aware of things like Zim already, you want to be careful that apperance is the only thing they have in common. I could accept a Zim-esque figure who is passive and insecure.

The art is pretty spot on for the tone, love the details and the hatching. Expressive characters add a lot to the story tellling.

Welcome to the forum! Keep posting! Is there anything specifically you want crits on?

• Options
    Thanks for the response, guys.