As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[Chat]ter than Shepard

• gundam470gundam470 Drunk Gorilla CaliforniaRegistered User regular
    Organichu wrote: »
    Podly wrote: »
    owl city

bleh

to be fair you say this about anything from the last 20 years that isn't german

To be fair, Owl City is really bleh.

gorillaSig.jpg
  • MimMim I prefer my lovers… dead.Registered User regular
    Uggghhhh, my foot is itchy

• emnmnmeemnmnme Registered User regular
  • ElldrenElldren Is a woman dammit ceterum censeoRegistered User regular
    Feral wrote: »
    Math never really clicked with me until I started studying logic because I would always try to think about things in real world terms.

We really need to find a better way to get kids interested in the abstract nature of math.

that is a tricky one.

They could introduce some parts of set theory and group theory early on. That doesn't require a foundation in calculus or even algrebra (well, at least not right away). That's more interesting abstract stuff.

is that what the whole "new math" thing in the 70's was?

I don't think so no.

Wait, what do you mean by "new math". I'm not familiar with the term.

I thought in the 70's there was a big shift in the way that math was taught, and it started focusing on set theory.

hmm, if there was it was over by the time I was in school.

When I was in high school (early 90s) I'd heard of it, but only in passing, and derisively, like that Tom Lehrer song above.

I really encountered it when I was working as a math tutor in college, because my boss was into it. He'd quietly incorporated some of the ideas into his remedial math classes (we're talking college-age students who were unable to do introductory algebra) because, well, they worked.