As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[TRENCHES] Tuesday, April 17, 2012 - Reversion

GethGeth LegionPerseus VeilRegistered User, Moderator, Penny Arcade Staff, Vanilla Staff vanilla
edited April 2012 in The Penny Arcade Hub
Reversion

Reversion
http://trenchescomic.com/comic/post/reversion

Propaganda and barbie?

Anonymous

I have been doing propaganda and pinup art for about 10 years at the time. Definitely sexually charged, but respectful. I was contacted by a game company that wanted me to do some art for them, so we set up a meeting and I drove 2 1/2 hours to go meet with them.

Upon arrival, the interviewer looks over my portfolio and begins to tell me about two new games they were working on. One was for Disney and the other for Barbie. They gave me a week to create a “disney or barbie friendly image” as a test… I ended up busting my ass to try and come up with something that was in my style but appropriate for those audiences. I wondered if they had ever actually SEEN my portfolio before, given the assignment.

In the end I emailed them and said “it was a pleasure interviewing with you, however this was all i could come up with, best of luck with the releases.”

It was a pin up girl with Disney tattoos.

Geth on

• Options
    RMS OceanicRMS Oceanic Registered User regular
    The story is a little weird.

• Options
    IncenjucarIncenjucar VChatter Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited April 2012
    I'm not sure what that story really has to do with game testing...

It's... an artist who doesn't know how to branch out.

Incenjucar on
  • Options
    HenroidHenroid Mexican kicked from Immigration Thread Centrism is Racism :3Registered User regular