As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

The Official Video Game Kickstarter Thread

• DonnictonDonnicton Registered User regular
    Also, Leisure Suit Larry has been successfully funded.

• AthenorAthenor Battle Hardened Optimist The Skies of HiigaraRegistered User regular
    From the creator of Ben There, Dan That.

http://www.sizefivegames.com/2012/04/25/size-five-fund-drive/
    So yeah, because someone’ll shout KICKSTARTER: I’ve said why in more detail in the upcoming issue of Continue Magazine, but (spoilers): basically as a solo dev I don’t want to toy with other peoples’ cash. If I die, or catch some horrible disease, no one else is going to make the game. That money’ll go to waste, the project will die, and angry people will probably wind up hounding my loved ones demanding their fiver back.

I’m also slightly wary of some of the alpha-funding horror stories I’ve heard: seems like people get a sense of entitlement with that kind of funding that I’m keen to avoid – I spoke to one sobbing indie dev who said he was in ‘perpetual crunch’ because being seen to take a single weekend off got him hatemail from his backers.

So that’s why I’m keen to try and stand on my own two feet. For as long as possible.

Have we established that the internet is a horrible, horrible place yet? I mean seriously. I'm not expecting to see anything out of the kickstarters I've donated to for at least a year. I have faith they'll do a good job, and I'm excited to give my feedback, but beyond that I'm a patient man.

I think that's going to be the most telling thing that comes out of Double Fine's documentary - getting to see how douchey the internet really is, from the other side.