As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Help with a home network

PraetorPraetor [Redacted]Registered User regular
Hey guys,

My family's just built a new house, and I've been tasked (as the only technically oriented person) to figure out what hardware to use for the home network. It's my first time looking at networking bigger than, oh, stick the cable from the wall into the router and just connect via wireless, and this is supposed to be a place we're gonna live in for a while, so I'm hoping I could get advice from people that've had experience with this.

So far, we've currently got about 10 cat6 cables to various points in the house, and a NAS box. My internet connection is going to be 100/50, so the current plan is a cable from my fibre optic box to a gigabit router with wireless-N (People have laptops and wanna roam around the house), which will then be connected to two 6 port switches. Finally, it's a pretty big place,so I've been told that for full coverage, i'm going to need to stick a range extender somewhere in the house.

So, big questions - any brands for hardware I should be looking at or specifically avoiding? I was advised to either go with Cisco, or to go with some taiwanese brand I cannot for the life of me remember right now. Advice on the network topography would be great too, in case I've overlooked something.

Internet
-Router
--2 Switches + NAS Box
---PCs.

Thanks for your time!

3DS FC: 3067-6095-3603
Praetor on

• AlectharAlecthar Alan Shore We're not territorial about that sort of thing, are we?Registered User regular
    Any reason to go with 2 switches vs 1 big one?

• SyphyreSyphyre A Dangerous Pastime Registered User regular