As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

A [chat] Unlike Any Other

• GooeyGooey (\/)┌¶─¶┐(\/) pinch pinchRegistered User regular
    Mazzyx wrote: »
    BobCesca wrote: »
    I don't understand US universities. How can you graduate before you know the results of your exams?

In mine you didn't. Graduation was the week after the exam. You apply to graduate so they know the numbers before the exam grades are in. But if you fail they don't give you the degree. Though most people by that point probably won't fail.

I think at our university you got to walk if you were on your "last" semester even if you didn't pass your final exams. Your tube was just empty.

Although I don't really know because I was an exceptional student :]

919UOwT.png
  • BobCescaBobCesca Is a girl Birmingham, UKRegistered User regular
    I don't understand US universities. How can you graduate before you know the results of your exams?

In mine you didn't. Graduation was the week after the exam. You apply to graduate so they know the numbers before the exam grades are in. But if you fail they don't give you the degree. Though most people by that point probably won't fail.

A week isn't really long enough to get all the scripts double marked, a sample sent off to the external examiner and the exam board held.

I think 3 weeks is the least time I've seen for this. And that was really hard work for everyone involved.

We are talking about completely different things. What you are describing doesn't really happen in the US for most bachelors. And actually doesn't happen for a masters either at most schools.

Oh.

I think I understand the US system even less than I thought I did.