As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Where do I look to play Dungeons and Dragons online?

SnuckeySnuckey Registered User regular
edited July 2007 in Critical Failures
I'm a D&D newbie (I just bought my first Player's Handbook), and I was hoping to find some people to play a game with online. In person is tricky because I'm a university co-op student, which means I move around pretty much every 4 months. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Snuckey on

• Options
    SUPERSUGASUPERSUGA Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    I don't have a link on me but if you google OpenRPG that gives you a program that's pretty decent for playing PnP games online. You may just stumble across a game needing players on there too.

Pretty much any RPG forum has a section for online games. Off the top of my head I know that Giant in the Playground has a forum for arranging online games.

Of course, we play D&D occasionally here too but it doesn't look like anything's planned. Maybe a kind soul will see this thread and decide to DM a starter game.

SUPERSUGA on
  • Options
    PonyPony Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Don't use OpenRPG. It's crap.

Use MapTools, available here: http://rptools.net/doku.php?id=maptool:intro

MapTools is java-based instead of Python-based, works on every platform, has lower system requirements, is more intuitive and easy to use, and has a far more stable server structure.

Basically, it's superior to OpenRPG in every way.

Pony on
  • Options
    INeedNoSaltINeedNoSalt with blood on my teeth Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    But OpenRPG lets you slap your character's stats right onto a sidebar!

No, Pony's right. MapTools is way better. :^:

INeedNoSalt on
  • Options
    ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular