As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Help Me I'm New To Comics

1394041424345»

• Robos A Go GoRobos A Go Go Registered User regular
    edited May 2012
    All you need to pass the Bechdel test is to have two ladies talk for an arbitrary period of time about something other than a man, so Scott Pilgrim would pass.

That said, the Bechdel test isn't really meant to describe the quality of individual works. An awesome movie about the last woman on Earth fighting robots would fail the test just because there are no female co-stars, whereas a movie where two women have a five minute discussion about shoes would pass even if the rest of it is about women being cockhungry monsters.

Robos A Go Go on
  • WiseManTobesWiseManTobes Registered User regular
    Do you have any particular recommendations for comics with strong females?

RE-Voting DnA's Cosmic run for this reason also, Moonshadow/Phyla Vel, Gamora, Crystal, Medusa, Lilandra, Ikon, all progressed the story, and showed strength of character thruout and were almost never just Damsel_in_distress_02.

Steam! Battlenet:Wisemantobes#1508
  • CrimsondudeCrimsondude Registered User regular
    Except for when Phyla won't shut up about bringing Moondragon back. But that's minor in the grand scheme of Marvel's cosmic women.

• HenslerHensler Registered User regular
    Yeah, Gamora is one of Marvel's best female characters post-Annhilation, even though she sometimes got lost on the Guardians roster.

• CrimsondudeCrimsondude Registered User regular
    Gamora and Mantis are fucking awesome

• initiatefailureinitiatefailure Registered User regular
    DnA's Cosmic Era needs to be on the Sci Fi list too!