As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

When the bar comes off your chest... don't stop [Weightlifting thread]

• Options
    Jimmy MarkuJimmy Marku LondonRegistered User regular
    Oh shit! A bigman thread! I started lifting properly at Christmas and this thread is exactly what I need.

Previously I was a skinny runner sort - did a 12 hour Ironman, a couple ultras, weighed 80kg at 6'2". Couldn't lift a really light thing. That's an exaggeration - I lifted casually on/off before.

I've been kind of making it up as I go along and learning a lot. I've now arrived at a really enjoyable, solid program and i've gained 10kg. Getting strong is actually not that hard! Who knew!

For anyone interested:
    Routine:

a/b/rest/c/rest/repeat

a = chest/tri
    b = back/bi
    c = shoulders/legs

I usually start with two heavy compounds 5,5,5,3,1,1/3-5min rest. Then I do several body-building style isolations at ~4x10/90sec for weak points.

1RM numbers:
    115kg/253lb - Squat.
    160kg/352lb - DL.
    95kg/209lb - Bench.
    67.5kg/149lb - Press.
    80kg/176lb - P Clean - still sorting technique for these. Not fast enough currently.

A few of the things that have been important for me:

- Protein is a big deal. I hardly progressed at all previously but now I get ~150-200g/day my lifts are going up rapidly.
    - Knowing goals is key. Everyone wants to lose weight, get massive and fit at the same time. That is really hard. I just got stronger, now i'm cutting down a bit (did a half IM last weekend).
    - Having a good knowledge of anatomy is essential - you need to know what exercises are hitting which muscles and have a good balance between them all. I'm lucky because I did a degree with lots of Human anatomy but 'Strength Training Anatomy' has almost all you need.