As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

It figures; it's just a couple of figures

JumpingAbbotJumpingAbbot Registered User regular
edited July 2012 in Artist's Corner
Hello all; longtime lurker, first-time poster. I realize this sort of thing isn't everyone's cup of tea around here, but I thought I might give it a go and put up some of my sculpture work. I've been working with Super Sculpey for many years now, learning little by little on my own. I usually only make my own characters (they make useful reference maquettes), though I've had a very small amount of exceptions over the years. Everything here is made with Super Sculpey and painted with acrylics.

The Mechanic is my latest figure (and it still may get a few paint detail touch-ups); she was started at the end of September 2011, but a hand injury halted work for many months. She stands just about 18 and 1/4 inches high (without the base). The head, ponytail, bangs, wrench, and tool belt bags were all made to be removable (for easier painting). (If this image stretches things too much, I'll replace it with a smaller one.)
329_18a.png

The Adventuring Mummy, made prior to the Mechanic in about two months. He took far less time since he's only seven and a half inches tall. If he was the same scale as the others, he'd have wound up being 24-27 inches high.
326_AA_15.png

Here's the previous figure, The Captain, made last year in about six months (though that was interrupted many, many times without any injuries involved). This one is just over 16 inches tall. The coins are little metal craft coins, and are the only things not made of clay. The head, pipe, and barrel are all removable.
DSCF0009a.png