Paint The Line - Tokens, Cards

collinccollinc Registered User regular
edited July 2012 in Penny Arcade Games
Hey all,

My friend got the Paint The Line game. We've been having a lot of fun with it, but we have some questions.

1. Tokens - How are they meant to be used? We figured they were single use and you could use as many as you want on whatever card they match. So for example, I get a +2 lob token. I can then use that token once combined with any lob card, not just the one the token was earned for.

2. Ignore effects of previous shot- This is on one of the cards. We decided to have it ignore effects that haven't already taken effect. For example, I played a card that had him discard his top two cards from his bag. That went into affect immediately after I played it so it couldn't be ignored. If I had played a card that was something like requires double the stamina, that could be ignored because it didn't affect the game immediately, it affects the turn. So are we playing this right?

3. Return a card to target's hand- Is there a good use for this? If he returns a shot card to my hand, I can use it next turn which I may not have been able to do if it was tapped. He ended up using it to return a double tapped card to his own hand, and had I been using any enhancement cards he could have returned them, but that would only delay me if I had low stamina.

Thanks guys. :)

Free cake. Inquire within.
collinc on

Posts

  • mzummzum Registered User regular
    collinc wrote:
    Hey all,

    My friend got the Paint The Line game. We've been having a lot of fun with it, but we have some questions.

    1. Tokens - How are they meant to be used? We figured they were single use and you could use as many as you want on whatever card they match. So for example, I get a +2 lob token. I can then use that token once combined with any lob card, not just the one the token was earned for.

    2. Ignore effects of previous shot- This is on one of the cards. We decided to have it ignore effects that haven't already taken effect. For example, I played a card that had him discard his top two cards from his bag. That went into affect immediately after I played it so it couldn't be ignored. If I had played a card that was something like requires double the stamina, that could be ignored because it didn't affect the game immediately, it affects the turn. So are we playing this right?

    3. Return a card to target's hand- Is there a good use for this? If he returns a shot card to my hand, I can use it next turn which I may not have been able to do if it was tapped. He ended up using it to return a double tapped card to his own hand, and had I been using any enhancement cards he could have returned them, but that would only delay me if I had low stamina.

    Thanks guys. :)

    1. Treat tokens as if they were an actual card, with the appropriate shot type. Any bonus' they confer are static (with no advantage stats) and require no stamina to use. Tokens, while usually sub-optimal when compared to other cards, can be recycled, and interact with other cards (Order of Lenin and Alpha Strike for instance).
    2. Seems correct.
    3. Stamina is a card, and in play. Especially with Tycho's ability to ready a Shot, and the American theme (resource denial), Amnesia is supremely flexible. Returning Stamina on back to back turns, or Bouncing the card with Amnesia every turn (to have a decent Shot available every turn) are all possible uses. It can also set up a large Slash and Burn.

    *The above is based on my interpretation of the rules and is no way definitive.

  • ARMed_PIrateARMed_PIrate Registered User regular
    The Tokens seem most useful with cards that have Amplify (they get better the more shots--token or card--of a given type you have in play)
    Thanks for the #3 explanation. That handn't occurred to me.

  • olanmillsolanmills Registered User regular
    For #2, I think you are talking about these cards:

    The Bear - Trick Shot - Discard the top 2 cards from the target bag - costs 6 stamina
    Moon Shot - Trick Shot - Ignore the previous shot card ability - costs 9 stamina

    The rule book is pretty clear about this, but then for some situations, it doesn't feel right. The rules state , "When you commit to hitting a shot card, resolve the card ability, double tap the shot card, then roll the d20."

    So your interpretation seems correct. The discard happens before you even roll, so apparently, even if you fail to hit, you still get to take the action. This doesn't matter for most of the shot and enhancement cards, as their abilities don't have an effect unless the opponent needs to return the shot (which won't happen if you fail to hit), but for some of the cards where you take an action (search your bag, tap/untap, etc), it would seem like you get to take the action, regardless of whether or not you hit. I guess that seems fair since you need to pay the stamina to play the card and the card is going to be tapped out. Still thematically, it doesn't make sense for some cards to follow this rule strictly.

    For instance, the Fingerbreaker card is a Shot Enhancement card that says that the opponent has to discard two cards from their hand before their next hit, but thematically, if you were to try to use this enhancement, and then fail to hit, it seems like the opponent shouldn't have to discard any cards because, after all, you didn't hit the ball and break his fingers, lol. And that does bring up another question about Moon Shot, though I suppose if you read it literally, the question is already answered, but if you use Moon Shot, are the ability effects of an Enhancement attached to a Shot Card also ignored? The text only mentions "shot card" so I guess the answer should be "no", but given that Moon Shot has a relatively high stamina cost of 9, it seems like it's supposed to be powerful.

    gB4K4pB.png
  • olanmillsolanmills Registered User regular
    Regarding the tokens, Steve Bowler responded in this thread at BoardGameGeek: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/9972133

    According to that thread, tokens should be used like shot cards, not enhancements, and if you use it to hit, you have to discard it, but otherwise it can remain in play indefinitely (works with Amplify, Sacrifice, etc).

    I know that that was beasically covered in this thread, but I thought some might find it nice to see an official confirmation.

    gB4K4pB.png
Sign In or Register to comment.