As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

How necessary is third party virus software?

Magic PinkMagic Pink Tur-Boner-FedRegistered User regular
I've been paying for McAfee for two years and recently a friend who runs network maintenance for a high school said that the default Windows firewall and virus scan is more then enough for anyone.

Yes/no?

Magic Pink on

• Options
    FoomyFoomy Registered User regular
    Microsoft security essentials: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows/products/security-essentials

It's one of the best antivirus programs out there, and it's free.

Steam Profile: FoomyFooms
  • Options
    GaslightGaslight Registered User regular
    edited October 2012
    McAfee and Norton are more trouble than they're worth, horribly bloated, a pain to get off your system. Some people say they give you viruses or are worse than a virus themselves, and it isn't far from the truth.

Or at least, that's the way it used to be 5-10 years ago, which is when I ditched them and never looked back. Was an AVG guy for a long time. McAfee, Norton, etc may have improved a bit, perhaps less bloated (couldn't say firsthand), but nobody I know who is very computer literate bothers with them. You are probably throwing your money away.

Nowadays Microsoft Security Essentials should serve you in good stead.

Gaslight on
  • Options
    Magic PinkMagic Pink Tur-Boner-Fed Registered User regular
    Awesome, thanks folks. Will do.

• Options
    DehumanizedDehumanized Registered User regular
    Technically speaking, MSE is first party antivirus software. In fact, it's so first party that Microsoft just called it part of Windows Defender and integrated it into the OS for Windows 8.

• Options
    FoomyFoomy Registered User regular