As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Job Training Grants / Programs / Loans

spool32spool32 Contrary LibraryRegistered User regular
So, I'm preparing myself to get back into the private sector after a couple of years of unemployment and a couple of years of underemployment. A brief history, for those interested in context:
- I'm an IT professional with over 15yrs experience, but I was fired in 2008 during the crash, didn't work for nearly two years. I'm quite underpaid for my skillset, but I don't want to get back into server admin.

- Before I was fired, I was the regional IT & InfoSec Manager for the southern US, and ran the IT dept for the R&D center of a huge multinational company. I had a staff and a large budget! I did projects, ISO audits, and the occasional server support in between managing the techs and helping them fix obscure problems they couldn't solve. The only desktop computer I fixed was the CEO's.

- Right now I work at what could charitably be called an IT Manager's position, but this job is roughly in line with what I was doing a decade ago in terms of skills and responsibility. I have one part time IT minion and a much smaller budget. I fix printers and crimp network cable and tell secretaries how to find the bookmarks bar.

- My current salary is ~25% less than what I was making before the crash.