As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Help me describe Beer

oldsakoldsak Registered User regular
I'm working on a project for which I need a list of potential descriptors or tasting notes that could apply to beer. Stuff like bitter, full bodied, clean finish etc. I am by no means an expert and do not have the vocabulary to come up with a sufficiently robust list of adjectives on my own.

So I ask you, how do you describe beer? You can speak generally or describe a specific beer. Give me a list of adjectives or a block of text and I'll parse it. Even if you can only add one word to the discussion, it helps.

Thanks.

• Options
    schussschuss Registered User regular
    Malty
    Hoppy
    Floral
    Gritty
    Smoky
    Citrus
    Fruit - note that specific fruits are valid (IE, I taste pears)
    Creamy
    Thin
    Grassy
    Wheaty
    Thick
    Chocolate
    Woody - specific woods
    Coffee
    Sweet
    Bitter
    Strong
    Weak
    Clean
    Lingering
    Dark
    Light
    Pungent

Note that you should have tasting stages. An example - Smokestack Lightning (Imperial Stout)from Magnolia - "You're hit by a cloud of smoke, then suddenly a train of floral hop punches through, leaving a clean dark finish and a hint of oak"

Beer tastes are actually incredibly complex, and not counting the order of operations is missing the point.

• Options
    WildEEPWildEEP Registered User regular
    Good:

Hoppy
    Bright
    Fruity
    Oaky
    Thick
    Light

Bad:

Panther Piss
    Sweaty Llama balls
    Stuff you'd serve a mother-in-law
    Once my dog threw up and then ate his own throw up - and I assume it tasted something like this

• Options
    DjeetDjeet Registered User regular
    You can find a lot of beer reviews/tasting notes at BeerAdvocate.com

• Options