As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Burnt out teacher's aide needs new job/ benefits

analtforhelpanaltforhelp Registered User regular
edited November 2012 in Help / Advice Forum
I've been working in special education for the last 4+ years and I'm fried. I don't have a cert or a masters, but that's fine because (as of right now) I don't want to teach anymore. I work for a district but I get sent out to a private facility. It used to be pretty decent there, but since all of the cuts (I live in NJ, thanks Chris Christie) they've lost a lot of students back to the districts and the school has had to pick up students that honestly have no business at our facility due to the severity of the disabilities and behaviors. The problem is, if the school loses more kids, people start losing their jobs. So as it is, my room is a nightmare of a work environment. I love the staff I work with, they're like family, but I can't keep doing this, it's killing me. I'm NOT going to get a transfer from district, so don't bother bringing it up. The problem is I need health insurance, not just for catastrophic though that's obvious, but mainly for medication- I take antidepressents.

So I need to find something different, but I'm REALLY poor at looking for jobs, and feel constrained by the fact that teaching is all I've really done since college. I worked in an office at one point, but I sucked at it, mainly because ti was my first job and my ADD caused a lot of problems with multitasking. That's also why I need drug coverage, I want to get back on adderal but it'd cost me about 400+ dollars a month (yes) on my current drug coverage.