As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Feedback and critique request for retro sci-fi adventure strip

UncleRobotUncleRobot Registered User new member
I'm a writer first and artist second. I've been kicking around the concept of this strip for years now. I've actually been drawing it for about 6 months and have about 25 in the can. I'm going for an old Sunday paper style feel, and have been inspired by work like 'Terry and the Pirate' and 'Flash Gordon'. I know that my anatomical drawing needs work. I'm also working on consistency in the figures. Part of that has been me settling on a look for a few of the characters. I'd like to know what people think of how it stands as a strip, writing and art taken into consideration together.

Not sure how much of the work I should post for this conversation. Let me know if I should post more.

I look forward to seeing what you have to say. Thank you for taking the time to look at it.

12.07.22_VP1_PrisonAsteroid4234371-WEB.jpg

12.07.29_VP2_VORTOS_CHRONOMETER_WEB.jpg

12.08.05_VP3_TRIPPED_UP_WEB.jpg

12.08.12_VP4_Vorto-The-Pirate_WEB.jpg

12.08.19_NOTHING_BUT_TIME_WEB.jpg

• HalenHalen Registered User regular
    I really like it - particularly the story and pacing is great. You've certainly captured the mood you're going for. I'll let the better comic book artists comment on style, the only comment I would make is whether you'd consider breaking up the format of the strip - I know traditionally this style of comic keeps to the title, double panel then 9 grid, but it can get a bit wearing after a while.

Draw an egg.
  • MetalbourneMetalbourne Inside a cluster b personalityRegistered User regular
    Okay I fucking love this.

I have a soft spot in my heart for pulp sci-fi.