As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

What do you want to be when you grow up? [Job Thread]

19495969798100»

• Erin The RedErin The Red The Name's Erin! Woman, Podcaster, Dungeon Master, IT nerd, Parent, Trans. AMA Baton Rouge, LARegistered User regular
    Yukira wrote: »
    So I mentioned that I really enjoyed the last acquisition I did and he said he'd make sure I'd be involved in more of them.

This is one more thing that'll help get me promoted off the Help Desk.

And it's actually fun setting up new equipment in a set time frame.

Help desk is a good foot in the door but for myself and lots of people I've talked to, it wears thin quickly.

• YukiraYukira Registered User regular
    Yeah it does. Very fast. I've been doing it off and on for the last 6 years and would like to do something else.

• msuitepyonmsuitepyon Registered User regular
    I have a dilemma--my job as an engineer has me collecting physical data on our product as it is installed in a vehicle/semi/combine/etc. My group and I then take that data and calculate the life of that part and relay that information in the form of a report. Additionally, we may perform tests and calculations for customers each of which require a report. We may also issue memos internally and externally. So, as it stands, we have a massive amount of documents on our server. Each type (data collection, calculation, report, memo, test, etc.) are logged using Excel sheets. This is where my dilemma is.