As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[Computer Build Thread] - Haswell? More like Has...damnit, I had something for this...

• tsmvengytsmvengy Registered User regular
    Gaslight wrote: »
    Again, spread that shit by hand .

Clarification/warning: do not literally spread it by hand.

I have a Cooler Master Hyper 212+ on my Ivy Bridge chip, and I use the "thin center line" application method on the chip itself, and also "tint" the actual heat pipe contact area of the cooler with the paste by applying a little bit and then spreading it very thin with the edge of a credit card.

I would agree with @tsmvengy about the "If you can't get the cooler to come off, you did it right" rule of thumb, although it is seriously always a butt-puckering moment when I DO need to remove the cooler because I am always worried I will yank the chip out of the socket and damage it for that reason. D:

I did yank the chip out of my AM2 motherboard once, nothing bad happened to the chip though!

steam_sig.png
  • ButtcleftButtcleft Registered User regular
    edited June 2013
    AMD APU Bundle

How is this bundle for a good starting point on rebuilding a PC that's nothing more than an email/web browsing machine?

Was thinking of pairing it with This Cooler Master 525w power supply since that seems to be the cheapest one i can find with a brand I trust, and this Seagate Barracuda HDD since space is not important for this project.

Trying to price out a replacement/rebuild for someone.

Buttcleft on
  • kingmetalkingmetal Registered User regular