As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Temporary Employment Conundrum

DrakeonDrakeon Registered User regular
So, backstory: I was laid off from my job in early June and have since applied to and started the hiring process with several counties (I was a Probation Officer). However, this can take months to finally get in. I've also applied to a few near minimum wage jobs as a way to limit my gap in employment. I was recently notified I was invited to an interview for one of these jobs. Also of note: I'm receiving unemployment. My question is: is there a way to bring up my current job search without immediately disqualifying me? I ask because if I got this minimum wage job, I've already got a few dates booked for interviews and tests, I refuse to miss those, as the job prospects are too great.

I was thinking of telling them I had a 4 year degree and was only interested as a short term prospect, as I will be continuing to pursue these opportunities I already have set in motion. Or something like that.

PSN: Drakieon XBL: Drakieon Steam: TheDrakeon

• The EnderThe Ender Registered User regular
    Hm. That's a tough call.

Honestly, I wouldn't bring it up. If they ask (I can't imagine why they would), it's probably best to be honest about it - but I wouldn't proactively volunteer the fact that you're just looking for a short stint. Most employers would likely put you on a backburner at best.

Also, be sure to check what the scoop is with your unemployment checks. Many places more or less stop sending them once you get a job, and that can screw-up your budget if you're not prepared for it.

With Love and Courage
  • DrakeonDrakeon Registered User regular