As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Need something to alert my family about my son if something happens to me

cshadow42cshadow42 Registered User regular
I'm a single father to a 3 year old, and my biggest fear is that if something were to happen to me, my son would be left all alone in our home and no one would know about it. Does anyone know of a web application that will send out an email to family/friends if you don't respond to a check-in email?

MTGO Handle - ArtfulDodger
Diablo 3 - ArtfulDodger#1572
Minecraft - ArtfulDodger42

• Options
    The EnderThe Ender Registered User regular
    edited July 2013
    There's this digital dead man's switch.

I have never used the service before so I can't speak to how reliable it is.

Aside from that service - I know that not enough people, including myself, do this, but: you should always let someone know when you are going somewhere and where that somewhere is, even if it's just to work each day, and arrange for a check-up phone call. It's easy enough to do these days.

In your case, give the person specific instructions to call you, and if they can't reach you, to immediately do [X] to make sure your son is in good care in the meantime.

EDIT:

...Hm. I just tried out Deadmansswitch.net, and honestly it's a piss poor service. You can't customize it to have reasonable intervals of contact, and it only sends out the distress e-mail 1 day after, which is ridiculous.

This app looks more promising, if you have an Android phone.

There's also Deadman.io.

The Ender on
    With Love and Courage
  • Options
    CelestialBadgerCelestialBadger Registered User regular
    Maybe you need more regular social contact with other parents, so that people would miss you, say if you didn't turn up to playdates.