As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[BSG:BG] Daybreak Game 1 - Game Over

1246732

Posts

  • PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    Any reason there's no admiral/cag symbols out?

  • MrBlarneyMrBlarney Registered User regular
    I forgot to add them, that is why. Images will be updated soon, thanks for the heads up.

  • Grunt's GhostsGrunt's Ghosts Registered User regular
    So I haven't played this before, so can someone give me a walkthrough on what I can do and how to do it?

  • PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    You're our pilot, and also CAG, so what you really want to do is be in space. I would recommend launch aft, use your CAG action to move the unmanned aft, then activate to move aft (or use a pil card)

  • TenekTenek Registered User regular
    If you have a 5- or 6-strength card (careful if it's a really useful one like Scout for Fuel, though) you could activate FTL and Hotshot the roll (but don't do that otherwise, since we can't lose 3 pop at this point.)

  • blahmcblahblahmcblah You pick your side and you stick - you don't cut and run when things get ugly. Registered User regular
    If you received a card that says You Are a Cylon, you should tell us and maybe we can help you out.

  • KaneskiKaneski Registered User regular
    edited September 2013
    So I haven't played this before, so can someone give me a walkthrough on what I can do and how to do it?

    As Phyphor has said - you are one of our 2 pilots (Adama being second), so you get to draw red cards, which help with space combat.

    The keys of space combat are:

    1. Friendly ships are controlled by 'activating a viper'. Any time you see that phrase, it means you can do something with one of our friendly ships. Things you can do are: launch it from galactica, move it to an adjacent space area, shoot an enemy, or escort a civilian. You can also 'activate' yourself using your own character action.

    2. Your space-relevant (action) cards come in 2 flavours. 1: they begin with Action: and they use up your action for the turn. 2: reactive - these cards say when you can play them. For example, evasive maneouvers plays after an enemy shoots.

    3. Enemies activate mostly according to Crisis cards. If you read through the posts discussing Admiral Cain's decision, you'll see we're trying to work out the space situation by predicting enemy activations.


    Your 'job', as it were, is to keep the civilians in space safe and shoot down frakkin toasters. This is all done through activations and actions. Don't be confused though - you're not the only one to do this, you are just better than the rest of us. Theoretically, the whoe space combat thing can be done from the Command location.


    As a recommendation, I would suggest:

    1. Movement - say in Hangar Deck
    2. Action - launch yourself in a viper (using hangar deck action)
    3. Use your CAG card ability - activate an unmanned viper and move it around the board. Since the civs at the rear are in danger, that's the best position.
    4. After #3, you still have an action - since everything you did so far has had the phrase "then take another action". With this, you can play a card or move yourself.


    Alternatively, if you have a card worth 5 or 6 points, you can go to the FTL location, use it to jump us, and discard the card to guarantee no population loss - since thats your first positive ability of your character.


    EDIT: Or just spend 20 minutes reading the rulebooks :P

    Kaneski on
  • Grunt's GhostsGrunt's Ghosts Registered User regular
    Yeah, I've been kinda busy this weekend with work and sleep so I the OP and the first rulebook.

    I'm in the Hangar Deck so, Launch to Port Quarter and Move to AFT.

  • blahmcblahblahmcblah You pick your side and you stick - you don't cut and run when things get ugly. Registered User regular
    Really not going to use your CAG action? It's free, we promise.

  • Grunt's GhostsGrunt's Ghosts Registered User regular
    Forgot about that. Launch Unmanned Viper into Port Quarter and move it to AFT if I can if it follows the same launch rules as I do.

  • PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    It does not. You can launch, or move the existing one, but not both

  • blahmcblahblahmcblah You pick your side and you stick - you don't cut and run when things get ugly. Registered User regular
    edited September 2013
    It doesn't. You only get one free unmanned activation, so you can move one of the ones already out there to aft, or launch a new one to port quarter, but not both.

    Edit: ninja'd. And by "one of the ones" I meant just the one in port quarter.

    blahmcblah on
  • PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    slowmcslow

  • blahmcblahblahmcblah You pick your side and you stick - you don't cut and run when things get ugly. Registered User regular
    Not my fault you're such a ninja. :\

  • MrBlarneyMrBlarney Registered User regular
    Um... I normally don't intervene in games from the hosting position since I don't like the implications of bias, but perhaps I should go ahead and run the movement and action steps like I think Grunt's Ghosts is trying to follow upon the recommendation of other players? Since it is his first turn, it might be a good example to show.

  • KaneskiKaneski Registered User regular
    edited September 2013
    I think the confusion may lie here: @Grunt's Ghosts, you have to move before you take your action. So your launch takes an action (but gives one back); your CAG Action to move the unmanned takes an action (and gives one back), and then to MOVE yourself takes your remaining action (because you 'activate' yourself)

    Your actual movement... "point" for lack of a better example, is not used this turn.

    @MrBlarney I'd say do it... simply because at this point the action has been discussed and confirmed by so many non-active players, that to do otherwise would draw instant "you are a Cylon for" accusations - not productive regardless of whether Ghost is human or cylon... In our IRL games, we call this shiz collective bullying. It's MARVELLOUS for rooting out Cylons.

    Kaneski on
  • MrBlarneyMrBlarney Registered User regular
    Well, I will wait to get official authorization from Grunt's Ghosts before taking action, just in case things have been sufficiently cleared up for him.

  • Grunt's GhostsGrunt's Ghosts Registered User regular
    Yeah, I was trying to follow the group, mainly since I don't understand everything yet. Go ahead and do what I was trying to do. Ill have to download and read those pdfs sometime today since I won't be at work then. :P

  • MrBlarneyMrBlarney Registered User regular
    edited September 2013
    Turn 4: Louanne "Kat" Katraine (Grunt's Ghosts)

    Movement Step: Grunt's Ghosts remains at the Hangar Deck.
    Action Step: Launch in a Viper Mk. II to the Port-Quarter (5 o'clock). Use the CAG Action to move an unmanned Viper Mk. II to Aft (3 o'clock) and bonus action to move piloted viper to Aft.

    Kat gains clearance to launch and moves to the aft of Galactica with another pilot. Her mind turns to memories of the past, of people lost in the Cylon attack on the Twelve Colonies and in the long journey since the attacks.

    Crisis Card: Loss of a Friend

    Skill Check [9] Politics + Leadership
    Pass: No effect.
    7+: The current player discards 2 Skill Cards.
    Fail: -1 Morale, and the current player discards 2 Skill Cards.

    After Crisis: Activate Heavy Raiders, Advance Jump Preparation

    Skill Check Submissions:
    Destiny Deck - 2 cards
    Lee Adama, Daybreak ver. (Tenek) - 0 cards
    Helena Cain (Professor Phobos) - 0 cards
    D'Anna Biers (Kaneski) - maximum 1 card
    Louis Hoshi (Kirindal) - 1 card
    Romo Lampkin (blahmcblah) -
    Gaius Baltar, Daybreak ver. (Phyphor) -
    Louanne "Kat" Katraine (Grunt's Ghosts) - 2 cards

    Though skill check submissions are normally performed in player order, I will allow players to submit cards out of order if they wish to. As a reminder, you should declare the number of cards you will submit to the check in the thread, then send me a PM with the cards that you have chosen to submit.

    MrBlarney on
  • KaneskiKaneski Registered User regular
    This should be passed... 2 morale before first jump is bad. Can contribute high.

  • Grunt's GhostsGrunt's Ghosts Registered User regular
    Do we pm these are do we just say we have Polite X and Leadership Y which equals blah?

  • KaneskiKaneski Registered User regular
    edited September 2013
    We post the number of cards in ForestGreen Bold; and PM MrBlarney the actual cards we wish to contribute.

    Edit - guess based on lurking in other BSG threads.

    Kaneski on
  • Grunt's GhostsGrunt's Ghosts Registered User regular
    2 cards. I think I'm doing that correctly.

  • KaneskiKaneski Registered User regular
    edited September 2013
    The person whose turn it is is last to contribute - it's usually a good idea to wait to see what others put in (especially suspected or actual Cylons... except me, the friendly Cylon, ofcourse).

    Edit: On that note. Just to check... you know how skill checks work?

    Kaneski on
  • MrBlarneyMrBlarney Registered User regular
    Kaneski wrote: »
    We post the number of cards in ForestGreen Bold; and PM MrBlarney the actual cards we wish to contribute.

    Yup. Everything's in order so far.

  • Grunt's GhostsGrunt's Ghosts Registered User regular
    Kaneski wrote: »
    The person whose turn it is is last to contribute - it's usually a good idea to wait to see what others put in (especially suspected or actual Cylons... except me, the friendly Cylon, ofcourse).

    Edit: On that note. Just to check... you know how skill checks work?

    Now I do thanks to rereading the OP.

  • KaneskiKaneski Registered User regular
    edited September 2013
    2nd Edit: Yeah... I shouldn't play after work :) Apologies.

    Kaneski on
  • Professor PhobosProfessor Phobos Registered User regular
    edited September 2013
    0 Cards

    Professor Phobos on
  • Professor PhobosProfessor Phobos Registered User regular
    Oh, secrecy rules question- can we claim to have certain cards? Like can I say, "I will play Strategic Planning to pass Dice Roll X?"

  • KaneskiKaneski Registered User regular
    edited September 2013
    MrBlarney's call, but I believe "Yes, without abusing it". It's in the official faq on the last page - additional secrecy guidelines. Examples: "I have 2 strat plannings, 2 Consolidate Powers and a Best of the Best" = abuse. "I got a strat plan/does anyone have a strat plan?" - not abuse.

    It gets extremely difficult for humans to do anything beyond luck without some sort of sharing...

    Kaneski on
  • TenekTenek Registered User regular
    Ugh. Nothing good to toss in this time, I'm afraid. 0 cards

  • KirindalKirindal Registered User regular
    edited September 2013
    I have a card that might be pottable. 1 Card

    Kirindal on
  • DoctorstrongbadDoctorstrongbad Registered User regular
    Good luck everybody.

  • MrBlarneyMrBlarney Registered User regular
    Kaneski wrote: »
    MrBlarney's call, but I believe "Yes, without abusing it". It's in the official faq on the last page - additional secrecy guidelines. Examples: "I have 2 strat plannings, 2 Consolidate Powers and a Best of the Best" = abuse. "I got a strat plan/does anyone have a strat plan?" - not abuse.

    It gets extremely difficult for humans to do anything beyond luck without some sort of sharing...

    More or less, this will be the case. Use your own discretion for information sharing, but I'll jump in and say if things are getting out of hand.

    We've got Kaneski, blahmcblah, and Phyphor remaining for skill check submissions.

  • PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    1 for a little

  • KaneskiKaneski Registered User regular
    edited September 2013
    1 Card

    Kaneski on
  • blahmcblahblahmcblah You pick your side and you stick - you don't cut and run when things get ugly. Registered User regular
    1 Card

  • MrBlarneyMrBlarney Registered User regular
    edited September 2013
    Turn 4: Louanne "Kat" Katraine (Grunt's Ghosts)

    Crisis Card: Loss of a Friend

    Skill Check [9] Politics + Leadership
    Pass: No effect.
    7+: The current player discards 2 Skill Cards.
    Fail: -1 Morale, and the current player discards 2 Skill Cards.

    Skill Check Submissions:
    Destiny Deck - 2 cards
    Lee Adama, Daybreak ver. (Tenek) - 0 cards
    Helena Cain (Professor Phobos) - 0 cards
    D'Anna Biers (Kaneski) - 1 card
    Louis Hoshi (Kirindal) - 1 card
    Romo Lampkin (blahmcblah) - 1 card
    Gaius Baltar, Daybreak ver. (Phyphor) - 1 card
    Louanne "Kat" Katraine (Grunt's Ghosts) - 2 cards

    Politics 0 - Force Their Hand
    Politics 2 - Consolidate Power
    Politics 5 - Preventative Policy

    Leadership 0 - All Hands on Deck
    Leadership 0 - Iron Will
    Leadership 2 - Executive Order


    Tactics 5 - A Second Chance
    Piloting 0 - Protect the Fleet

    Current Total: 7 + 6 - 5 - 0 = 8.

    Force Their Hand requires that Grunt's Ghosts must play an additional card face up into the skill check or draw a Mutiny Card. What'll it be?

    MrBlarney on
  • KaneskiKaneski Registered User regular
    Ghosts, if you can play a 2 or a 3 Purple or Red, you will keep 2 cards AND we'll keep the morale - hooray for Iron Will.

    On that note... I'm going to assume that Protect the Fleet was Ghost's second card, since he only drew 1 green to date... No bets on whether Second Change was Hoshi's.

  • TenekTenek Registered User regular
    I'm not 100% positive but I think a Red 3 would save the check and trigger Protect the Fleet as well.

    Kaneski
Sign In or Register to comment.