As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Playing "IT" at the business.

darqnessdarqness KCMORegistered User regular
Hi Folks,

So, my boss recently found out about dual monitors and thinking it would be really cool and handy to have them, ordered two Samsung monitors online. They arrived and he asked me to hook them up.
I have no IT background, and can only do basic stuff with Windows. I've never opened up a computer or had the desire to until now, and have no idea what I am doing.

Because there is only one VGA port in the back I told him we would have to order a video card and he had me do it. Well I ordered the Radeon 5450 since it has a DVI out and VGA out that I can use for both monitors. After receiving the card and doing further research, it calls for a 400w PSU and I have no idea what our our Dell Optiplex 745 computers are equipped with. Rather than try it to see if it works or not and risk destroying something, I come to you computer mechanics, hoping you can point me in the right direction of which card I need.

The computer we want to do dual (extended) monitors with is a Dell Optiplex 745 http://www.walmart.com/ip/Dell-Refurbished-745-Tower-Desktop-PC-with-Intel-Core-2-Duo-Processor-4GB-Memory-1TB-Hard-Drive-and-Windows-7-Professional/20976856

If this is the wrong place to post this please feel free to move it to the appropriate area mods. Thanks!

• Options
    Donovan PuppyfuckerDonovan Puppyfucker A dagger in the dark is worth a thousand swords in the morningRegistered User regular
    That video card can pull a maximum of 75 watts through the PCI-E slot you'll be installing it into. As I understand it, you should be okay.