aleynarose's art: Critiques & Advice, please.

aleynarosealeynarose Chesapeake, VARegistered User new member
First time poster. Kinda nervous, but here goes. I'm a graphic designer, but I love cartooning and illustrations. I make logos and business cards and letterhead and whatever else to pay the bills, but my first love is character art. I read a few web comics, and I browse a lot of art every day and watch a lot of the "Watch Me Draw!" vids out there so I tend to get a bit intimidated. When I make a line that's not perfect, or I can't figure out how to sketch a freakin' hand (notice my character's hands are hidden in her pockets ^^), I get a little discouraged. Needless to say, I have quite a few WIPs... This strip, though, I started around 10 last night, and I was going to leave it til morning after I finished the line art, but I made myself sit down and finish it. I went to bed late, but I felt like I pushed through a wall. This is my first serious attempt at a comic strip.

Anyway. No need to be gentle. I want to improve (I would love to do this full time eventually, i.e., I hate you, business logos.), and I would love feedback.

wanderer_by_aleynarose-d6wwgmd.jpg

"Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up." -Thomas Edison

• IrukaIruka Registered User, Moderator mod
    Hey aleyna! Welcome. No need to be nervous. You're looking to learn, which is the best attitude to have. I have a lot of suggestions for you, so let me try and break it down.

First off, Post some more work. Specifically of any studies or characters that aren't in comic format yet. If you don't have anything that fits that bill, that's a good place to start. In general, though, its hard to get a sense of your overall skill from just this one comic. But I can tell that you need some work on your basics.

We have a couple resources that you might find useful. First, the monthly enrichment threads: