As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Submited wrong GPA to prospect employer, now what?

hulk007hulk007 Registered User new member
i went to a community college before I transferred to a University. I always kept track of all my classes and grades on an excel spreadsheet so as soon as I graduated I knew my GPA before the official transcripts came out. Anyway, I got an interview and was asked what my GPA was. I told them my calculated GPA. They asked for a transcript so I had the university send them my official transcript. Turns out not all classes were transferred from the community college to the university and my GPA ended up being o.2 less then what I originally told the hiring manager. The hiring manager has not received the transcripts yet, my question is, what do I do? I do not want to make it seem like I lied or fudged my gpa, it was an honest weighing error on my part. any input would be greatly appreciated.

• _J__J_ Pedant Registered User, __BANNED USERS regular
    Contacting the manager, and explaining the situation, seems like a sensible thing to do.

For future reference, though, it is always best to utilize official transcripts rather than self-calculated ones. Usually, a university gives students access to this information through their website.

• DhalphirDhalphir don't you open that trapdoor you're a fool if you dareRegistered User regular
    You don't have to tell him how the mistake occurred, just let him know, apologize for the error, and let it go.

• Al_watAl_wat Registered User regular
    edited January 2014
    send a short concise email that effectively says "oops! I just realized I initially gave you an incorrect GPA - the correct value is X.X. My transcripts will verify this. Thanks!"