As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

SciFi tabletop Roleplaying game recommendations?

NWKNWK Registered User regular
Hey all,

So several friend and I started playing Dark Heresy a couple weeks ago. It's the first time RPing for pretty much all of us but we've had a good time so far.

The problem is, one of our players doesn't really like the Warhammer 40k universe. Her main issue with it is that the universe is so hopeless, there's no chance for things to get better and the whole Imperium is mired in medieval-times ignorance. That grimdark hopelessness makes it difficult for her to connect with her character and really get into it. We're not that far into our DH campaign and the rest of us are flexible, so it's not a problem to try a different game.

Dungeons and Dragons is the obvious big alternative, but most of us (myself included) would prefer a scifi universe. The idea of Rogue Trader sounded really cool to us. My friend who can't really get into the 40k universe was getting a Firefly vibe from it which she loved, but that's not the case. Rogue Trader is more grimdark 40k.

Can anyone recommend/share some information about other good scifi tabletop RP games? DnD in spaaaaace?

If it's relevant, we're pretty spread out across Europe so we've been playing using skype and roll20.net for our sessions which has worked really well so far.

Steam GW2: Silas.5762

• WassermeloneWassermelone Registered User regular
    Star Wars? I haven't played the new Fantasy Flight version, but the Saga edition from Wizards was really good. It was more or less exactly DnD 3.75 in space.

Also, there is literally a Serenity RPG based off of firefly. I've never played it but it seems well reviewed on amazon:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1931567506/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top