As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Alex Smith: Intermediate Artist Debonair

AlexSmithAlexSmith Registered User regular
Hey; my name's Alex Smith, I'm an illustrator from Australia and I'm going to post some of my stuff for critique. I only started learning how to use a tablet about a year ago, and I really want to meet other artists because I feel like otherwise I'm kind of throwing my art into the wind with no-one to see it. Anyways...

l3ninka9utgb.jpg

05fj406stz10.jpg

g48azu4d2orx.jpg

Here's some concepts for a personal project - kind of like a zelda-like game with elements of fantasy and post apocalyptic themes. We got a Fish Ranger (or Spook), a Mutant Road Warrior and a Warlord of some type.

4tyvq2n596es.jpg

Some (very-rough) fully body portraits of the main characters for a webcomic I'm planning, with size comparisons. From left to right we have: Buck, Henri, Barbara, Agatha and Crange.

zjdijbuumgfc.png

Here's a weird creature I dreamt up...

ymx3b9xfddma.png

And lastly, my depiction of R'lyeh, done with a mouse. I tried for a vector style, which I usually don't do, and I quite like it.

Thanks for having a look, I will try to post more as I do more :)

WEBCOMIC

PORTFOLIO

PM FOR COMMISSIONS

• IrukaIruka Registered User, Moderator mod
    These look pretty good, but I think you need to spend some time on your coloring and lighting. If you tone down the saturation all over, you can make other things pop a lot more. Also, a more defined light source will help things look more cohesive

1kyjo59q3i7z.png
    (Sorry, I didn't have a chalk brush on hand)

Your characters and shapes are pretty nice/cute, I think refined coloring would give you some really charming work.

• AlexSmithAlexSmith Registered User regular