As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Applicable Game Industry Skill Things!

ANTVGM64ANTVGM64 Registered User regular
Howdy, I've posted on this forum before tangentially asking about various game-industry related positions, but have finally realized that in about two months I'll finally be financially stable enough to perhaps take a risk or two and dive head-first into a medium I'm passionate about.

Sorta. Having just paid off student loans the idea of more education is definitely a no-go. However, I have what I think are quite a few skills in a couple of different areas, and was curious if any of these gelled together into something resembling a skill-set for an actual job in the game industry.

1. Computer Technology - I currently work in Tech Support and have for well over 6 years now. I take over 5000 calls a year, explaining technical problems to non-technical end-users (in a retail environment) and walking them through various solutions, whether it be resetting their router, re-installing the toner in their printer, or explaining what a 'caps lock' is. - I would imagine these skills - along with my A+ and Net+ certification would endear me to folks like, say, gamestop's call center / customer service group because I've had experience explaining things to folks they may not quite understand.

2. Video production / editing / editing - I have a degree in TV writing and producing and worked for Roger Ebert's "Ebert Presents: At The Movies" before it was cancelled. I did video editing, website management, social media management, and helped bring the show into "HD" by using websites like EPK.TV and such.