As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Business Intelligence/Big Data as workfield - No experience/qualifications

YogoYogo Registered User regular
edited May 2014 in Help / Advice Forum
You guys are a helpful bunch and I hope you can shed some light over my situation.

Here's the story:

I am educated as a video game researcher (M.Sc. Games) with a Bachelor background in English in Denmark. Because I am a researcher and not designer or developer, I never learned nor was taught how to code at my university. I've tried teaching myself, but it has proved to be harder than just so. It is doable, but it will take considerable time before I have the basics down.

Since graduating I have been unable to land a job. This is typical of the times, but even more so because my specific background is unheard of outside of university academia. Basically, nobody has a clue as to do with a professional background like me. Furthermore, the few positions in the Games Industry here require a substantial amount of credited work to even be considered for a job and are in the programming department (hence my first problem).

All hope is not lost however, and I still have my analytical sense and competence to handle gathered data and present it to the decision makers; hence my newfound interest in BI.

All my research surrounding BI seems to put me in a bind however. Typical BI candidates either come from a financial or statistical educational background with a little to moderate experience in coding. The coding language varies, but it seems SQL (Microsoft) and SAP are the most preferred.