As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

I think my Cat hates her food.

PriestPriest Registered User regular
Hey all,

So I've been buying my Cat Natural Choice for 2-3 years now, after transitioning her from Friskies. I know nothing (knowledge∩null set) about Cat nutrition and food chemical hieroglyphics.

I meet two types of Veterinarians and Pet Store Employees:
a. Shills
b. Ethical enough to stay out of recommendations for sake of remaining impartial, but still useless.

Lately, my Cat has been pushing her food around apathetically. She eats it, but I don't get a sense of 'excitement' about it. She eats other things eagerly like treats, turkey, tuna, wet food.

I keep her bowls clean, using ceramic hand-washed bi-weekly. Her food is stored in fresh-sealed tupperware, about 45 days for a 16lb bag (9 lb cat). She drinks water out of an identical bowl.. Her bowls are in separate rooms from litter box. Her eating area is private from traffic.

I think it's time to switch things up for her. Anyone know something that cats love but is also healthy?

She is a small shorthair domestic, prefers Fish to chicken/beef 100%, has mild-to-no hairball issues, and is otherwise a healthy adult (7 years old). She had renal issues once when she was 3 years old (ate some of that pink insulation that she clawed in the crawlspace... bad kitty!). Pure wet-food diets are verboten (affordability / maintenance).

Thanks fancy lads and lasses.

• davidsdurionsdavidsdurions Your Trusty Meatshield Panhandle NebraskaRegistered User regular
    edited July 2014
    I know you said pure wet food diet is too difficult but really if your cat is going to be as healthy and happy as possible, then a natural diet is what it needs.