As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Transition from process operator to engineer

troy16troy16 Registered User new member
Pls I need help on this subject matter especially from those who has prior experience on this or have friends or heard of those with similar circumstance.
I have an undergraduate degree in mech engineering but took a job as an process operator/technician. After working as a process operator for 6yrs in a petrochemical plant, I wish to pursue an engineering position but would like to pursue a masters degree for a more specialized degree in facilities engineering.
Will my experience as a process operator be counted as an engineering experience should i decide to transition?
I also 2.87gpa in my undergraduate degree and did not have any internship and got turned down for engineering job postings soon after my undergrad so i decided to settle for a process operator job.
Now that I've worked for couple of years although its non engineering but very close so to speak, will I be able to make that transition now or would getting a masters degree in mech engineer help boost my cv and put me into a better position to succeed. I need someone advice on the best way to transitioning into engineering position for one with my background. Thanks

• Options
    ElJeffeElJeffe Moderator, ClubPA mod
    Moved this to the more appropriate Help/Advice forum.

I submitted an entry to Lego Ideas, and if 10,000 people support me, it'll be turned into an actual Lego set!If you'd like to see and support my submission, follow this link.
  • Options
    UsagiUsagi Nah Registered User regular